November Komikon 2015

2015 won’t be over without the November Komikon, which is held yearly at the Bayanihan Center Pasig. I am glad of the increasing number of people who appreciates comics, graphic novels and art in general. I wish that the comics industry will flourish again in the Philippines, imagine our very own comic characters go global and join the Avenger or the Suicide Squad! I dream that one day, my favorite character Alexandra Trese, created by Budjette Tan & Kajo Baldissimo, will have a crossover issue with the DC characters!

1-131851 1-131617

I tried not to splurge so much on comics this time. Don’t get me wrong, I love to support our local artists but Christmas is coming and I need not to spend so much before the holiday comes. But, I did have a budget to grab few comics and some art materials, I have been eyeing on for months.

Before I went inside the halls, I made a couple of stops with the booths outside. First, is my friend, Jolo Livelo and the Tanods’ booth. I got a copy of this very first Punch Kick – Player 1 Player 2 comics.

1-4780
A comics which is published every friday on Jolo’s personal facebook page.
It’s PUN to read! :D I bet you will like it.

And then, my second stop is at artwhale.ph‘s booth! I bought a Nicker gouache from them couple of months ago but I realised that I need a brighter set of colors. I will probably raffle those of when I have time. In my instagram of course. :) This time, I bought the Shin Han PASS watercolour and gouache hybrid. I got the nearest color to CMYK and a White one.
Each tube costs about Php 150-170 except for the black one, which costs Php 220. I will post a review as soon as I get to use these babies!

1-4793
The blue grey color is not purple-ish like in the picture. It’s more of a cyan shade. :)

Artwhale allowed me to take photos of the art supplies they carry. They also have the Touch markers, which I didn’t bother to try because I don’t want to buy those on impulse. They also have the Peerless watercolor paper, but sadly they don’t have the bright sets that I like.
I think they brought half of their shop in here and I got a glimpse of a piece of heaven, if I must say.

1-131522
1-131439 1-131455  1-131535 1-131507

Inside the venue is another art shop, but they are more on pens, markers, and watercolors. Most of what I saw were the Faber Castell PITT, another pen which I like to try because of its soft brush-waterproof black ink. They also have the Finecolour markers, Sakurai Koi and Kuretake Zig products such as Cocoiro pens, Bimoji, Fudebiyori & Gansai Tambai.
Oh yeah, they also have a White Pentel Touch, which I aim to use on Starbucks’ red cups. <3

1-47991-133258Later on, I visited the Anino comics booth too, were my friend Lance works. :) Hooray for your company supporting local artist! They have a graphic novel version of “Si Janus Silang at Ang Tyanak ng Tabon”, I got one for Php 250 only! I am not sure if this is available in our local bookstores already but I am sure that they will release this. I hope they will have the sequel turned into a graphic novel too!

1-4781

Of course, a komikon will never be completed without…dan-dan-dan! TRESE! Yes, I went to the Visprint booth for this copy of Trese which is translated to Filipino by Bob Ong. They also have the new book of Manix Abrera, “Hukbong Sandatahan ng Kahaggardan”, at Php 500.

1-4785

Lastly, I finally got to find a copy of Pasig, THE PASIG of the late Culture Crash Comics by Taga-ilog! Awesome! But I had to go around the hall a couple of times to look for him. Hahaha, he wasn’t in the same spot as he was in the summer Komikon.
I can finally read the whole series in peace. ;D

1-4788 1-4790

P.S.: A friend of mine requested me to buy her a copy of Ligaya, not entirely sure what it is about. I will ask my friend on Monday.

1-4784

And that concludes my November Komikon 2015 trip!
If you want to experience it, it’s their last day tomorrow, November 15, 2015.
The next one would probably be in summer of 2016. :)

Leave a Reply

