Practice for Improvement!

I always remind myself that there is always a room for improvement, so I try my best to make time for practice. It’s been years since I graduated from university but haven’t really mastered anatomy. In fact, I hated it because I never get the proportions correctly. But I love illustration so much!
Recently, I joined a group, Urban Sketchers and so I thought I needed to practice on my sketching skills. One of my friends, suggested to me the site Figure Drawing. It’s a website that flashes different models & poses of both genders for a time frame of your choice. All you have to do is sketch it as fast as you can, until you learn the flow.

Below is the usual setting that I use. I don’t do nude sketches of males but I am more comfortable sketching females. And yes, I choose the 30 secs. interval although I might switch to 60 secs. for a more detailed sketch later on.
Capture
Here are my output during 2 of my sessions. I would say this is my improved sessions. Since I was able to control my lines and strokes into a smaller sketches.  (You can color them too afterwards!) I was also told that it doesn’t have to be so detailed. You just need to feel it. :)

Have fun practicing! :)

Leave a Reply

